Day One!

Well, I made it through the first day of walking. Highlights of the day included a man who saw my shirt and yelled, “You should run! We have to get there faster!” and two women who thought fast and threw me a nutrition bar while they were stopped at a red light. People in New Hampshire have been wonderful–lots of smiles, peace signs, and supportive beeps from cars. Many thanks to Elizabeth and her roommates for the pizza, bed, laundry, internet access and company!

“Aren’t people good!” was a common exclamation by the original Peace Pilgrim, and now I understand why.

3 Responses to “Day One!”


  1. 1 Margarett June 2, 2007 at 1:14 pm

    Hey,

    Looks like you started out well then. I don’t know what the weather is like in NH, but it cooled down down here in NY so hope you are also enjoying a cool down. It was a bit brutal yesterday. Anyway keep chugging along. Really like the ‘you should run’ comment. Put a smile on my face. Also if you ran, you would get here faster =)

    Take care of yourself!

  2. 2 Margarett June 2, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    Hey,

    I am having trouble with these bloody comments. Anyway, loved the ‘you should run comment’. And as I wrote before in the comment that didn’t seem to take, if you ran you would also be here faster!

    Take care of yourself.

  3. 3 Jess June 4, 2007 at 2:12 am

    Sounds like a great start! I hope you’re finding shelter with all the rain and the storms.

    We are all looking forward to meeting you when you reach central Mass!


Leave a Reply

Walking for Peace

Starting June 1st, I’ll be walking at least 1,000 miles for peace. I will walk until given shelter and fast until given food. The way I understand the word, “peace” means internal peace, interpersonal peace, and peace on a national and international level. To get a little more specific, it also means that a young woman should be able to take a walk alone without fearing for her safety. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case right now. I’d like to help improve that situation.

Contact Me

peacepilgrim2007 @ gmail . com

