Mr. India–Possibly The Best Restaurant Ever

As a tropical storm makes its way through New England, walking is wet and cold. I had planned to have a traveling companion for the weekend, but her ex-boyfriend, who once tried to kill her, has her scared right now. Her heart is going too fast and skipping beats, so her doctor recommended that she not do any physical activity until they can monitor her for a while. Just another reminder of the importance of doing this.

After a tough day yesterday dealing with cold, wet, and people who thought I was homeless (and thus subhuman), I had to wait outside for a couple of hours while my housing for the night came to pick me up (I do accept rides to places to stay/speak as long as I get dropped off back where I ended–can’t cheat on the miles).

I ended up waiting in front of the Mr. India restaurant in Newburyport, MA because they were open until 10 and I knew people would be there until my ride came. As I waited, a man named Aaron came up to me, talked to me for five minutes, and gave me his jacket. Then he rode away on his bike in a t-shirt (it was really cold for a t-shirt). I should say that this guy was obviously not rich, and he’s going to have to work to get another jacket. I put the jacket on, covering up my message. Without knowing what I was doing or why, and only the information that I was cold, the owner of Mr. India invited me in and gave me a free dinner–the first food I’d had in a day and a half. And it was really good! If you ever find yourself in Newburyport, stop by Mr. India–they’ve got great food and some of the nicest people you could meet.

Despite some of the fear I’ve seen in people because I look different, I continue to be amazed by how kind everyone is.  And I’m still getting LOTS of honks and waves–people in this country really want peace right now.

1 Response to “Mr. India–Possibly The Best Restaurant Ever”


  1. 1 Beverly June 4, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    What an experience you are having, even at the very beginnings of this walk. I hope you get more offers for food and shelter. Remember me on Cape Cod if you are in need. I can try and come and get you if you are close by the Cape and take you back to continue the walk.
    With great admiration,
    Beverly


Leave a Reply

Walking for Peace

Starting June 1st, I’ll be walking at least 1,000 miles for peace. I will walk until given shelter and fast until given food. The way I understand the word, “peace” means internal peace, interpersonal peace, and peace on a national and international level. To get a little more specific, it also means that a young woman should be able to take a walk alone without fearing for her safety. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case right now. I’d like to help improve that situation.

Contact Me

peacepilgrim2007 @ gmail . com

