Milton

Walked into Boston yesterday and out to Milton, MA today, where I’m staying with an amazing group of musicians.  Now that I’m walking through the city I’ve started having some really interesting conversations with people.  A lot of people talk to me about their search for effective ways to work for peace, and their sense of powerlessness.

While I’m walking I don’t have much time to pay attention to the news, but from the conversations I’m having, I take it that there was a presidential debate, and only one candidate mentioned the word peace during that debate.  I see why people feel powerless–there is a huge gap between what people want and what is being promoted by the powerful.

All I can say to the people who feel that their actions have no meaning is that nothing really worth doing happens overnight.  We plant seeds.  The seeds sprout when they’re good and ready, and that may not be in our lifetime.  But if we don’t put them in the ground we can be sure they’ll never grow.

1 Response to “Milton”


  1. 1 Margarett June 8, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Wow, my mapquest says you have now gone a little over 66 miles, not bad. I don’t know if you took as direct a route as the computer though, so you may have clocked some extra miles in there.

    Ops, Oliver just destroyed my father’s air conditioning unit, have to go.

    Love,

    M


Leave a Reply

Walking for Peace

Starting June 1st, I’ll be walking at least 1,000 miles for peace. I will walk until given shelter and fast until given food. The way I understand the word, “peace” means internal peace, interpersonal peace, and peace on a national and international level. To get a little more specific, it also means that a young woman should be able to take a walk alone without fearing for her safety. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case right now. I’d like to help improve that situation.

Contact Me

peacepilgrim2007 @ gmail . com

