The Peace Abbey

Today I visited the Peace Abbey. I can’t tell you how amazing this place is. It’s an incredible retreat center, animal sanctuary, center for activism, and place of worship. They have a fantastic service every Sunday, and I attended today. When the caretaker of the Abbey found out about my walk, he said, “I have something for you.” I figured maybe he meant an energy bar or something… Then he took me straight over to the Peace Pilgrim glass case they have there, with her tunic, shoes, copies of her book and other materials, etc. So I thought he was going to give me a copy of her book. Wrong again. He unlocked the glass case. I couldn’t believe he was opening the thing. Still, I thought maybe he’d give me some little trinket…

He took out the tunic.

Long story short, I am now wearing Peace Pilgrim’s tunic, which I will return to the Peace Abbey at the end of my walk.

Now, for the sad part of this story. The Peace Abbey is in dire need of financial help within the next 20 days, or they will have to sell their property… They don’t ask for money and they won’t let anyone else ask for money for them, so all I can say is that this place is amazing and it needs to exist. And if it were replaced by an orthodontist’s office, I think I would cry.

3 Responses to “The Peace Abbey”


  1. 1 Kaja & Elan June 11, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Amazing! We’re monitoring your progress from Amsterdam – thinking of you and sending you our love.

    Keep on truckin’!
    k&e

  2. 2 Ben June 14, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    A legendary turn of events! It must be amazing to be so directly linked to the first Peace Pilgrim.

  3. 3 Earl June 19, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    So gald you went by the Peace Abbey, Lewis is the greastest…..my prayers are with you.

    Namaste


Leave a Reply

Walking for Peace

Starting June 1st, I’ll be walking at least 1,000 miles for peace. I will walk until given shelter and fast until given food. The way I understand the word, “peace” means internal peace, interpersonal peace, and peace on a national and international level. To get a little more specific, it also means that a young woman should be able to take a walk alone without fearing for her safety. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case right now. I’d like to help improve that situation.

Contact Me

peacepilgrim2007 @ gmail . com

