Paxton

I had a nice walk through Paxton, MA today…  I interviewed with the local radio station (WSRS/WTAG), but they don’t seem to have a website and I’m not sure when they’re airing the interview. 

I continue to meet the most amazing people…  Everyone is so different, and so wonderful in their own unique way.  A few days ago, an organic farmer helped me make a failed attempt to milk a goat (it’s harder than it looks).  Yesterday I stayed with a poet who is certain that her cats are plotting a marxist revolution (she makes a good case for her assertion–those cats are shifty). Today I had a fascinating conversation with a philosophy professor about what it would mean to live completely without selfishness.

Almost all of the wonderful people I meet tell me that the world is full of evil, dangerous people, and that I should be careful.  But the only people I’ve met have been kind and generous beyond belief.  We spend too much time being afraid of each other.

3 Responses to “Paxton”


  1. 1 Ben Dubin-Thaler June 14, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    Amazing! I hope you can post some of the details of the conversation with the professor sometime, I would like to read it.

  2. 2 Bill Newsom June 16, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    We make our own world. If you are not afraid, there is nothing to be afraid of. Bill

  3. 3 pilgrimforpeace June 17, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    Hi Bill–

    I’d be interested in hearing you explain that belief more… Are you talking about forming our own reaction to events, or forming the course of events itself? I’d also like to hear your take on how we can avoid using such a belief system to blame victims for their own misfortunes (and to feel superior to those who are not as fortunate as we are).

    -Peace


Leave a Reply

Walking for Peace

Starting June 1st, I’ll be walking at least 1,000 miles for peace. I will walk until given shelter and fast until given food. The way I understand the word, “peace” means internal peace, interpersonal peace, and peace on a national and international level. To get a little more specific, it also means that a young woman should be able to take a walk alone without fearing for her safety. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case right now. I’d like to help improve that situation.

Contact Me

peacepilgrim2007 @ gmail . com

