Barre

I’ve been meandering around Massachusetts, but will move more directly West soon.  Tonight I’m at a Buddhist center in Barre.  The people here are so great to talk to…  And they often have Theravada monks swing through, so they’re very used to people who don’t ask for anything, and they have offering hospitality down to a science–they’ve even got tricky ways of figuring out which foods you prefer.  Sneaky.

Today while I was walking I had a young woman sprint several blocks to chase me down.  When she caught up with me, she was hardly able to catch her breath from running to say, “Tell me (pant pant) about your message! (pant pant)”

On this walk, I often get the sense that I am meant to be speaking with someone, but talk about a woman on a mission!  I told her what I’m doing, and she didn’t say anything–she just gave me a huge hug before heading back to her car.

3 Responses to “Barre”


  1. 1 Margarett June 20, 2007 at 12:24 am

    Hey, glad for the update. I was missing finding out what you were up to the last couple of days. Will now go mapquest you and find out where you are. Keep taking good care of yourself!

  2. 2 Sarah June 21, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Cheering you on! Keep up the postings – love to hear how you’re doing… xo Sarah

  3. 3 Judy June 21, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Hey Peace,
    I hope all is well with you. Masha and I were hugely touched by your actions for peace. I’m just wrapping up the final edits for the Young Views show that has your interview and Masha’s story about the original peace pilgrim. It will air on Channel 13 in Worcester this weekend on Saturday at noon and 8:30 PM and Sunday at noon and 7 PM. Within the next couple of weeks I should have it captured to our web site for people to view. Our web address is http://www.wccatv.com/teen-central.
    Stay well and may our Lord continue to guide and protect you.
    Peace my young friend…
    Judy


Leave a Reply

Walking for Peace

Starting June 1st, I’ll be walking at least 1,000 miles for peace. I will walk until given shelter and fast until given food. The way I understand the word, “peace” means internal peace, interpersonal peace, and peace on a national and international level. To get a little more specific, it also means that a young woman should be able to take a walk alone without fearing for her safety. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case right now. I’d like to help improve that situation.

Contact Me

peacepilgrim2007 @ gmail . com

