Favorite Quotes From Along The Way

“A country is defined not only by what it does, but by what it tolerates.” (Sign In Front of a Unitarian Church)

“Happiness is the process of letting go, again and again.” (Host #1)

“I was having a really bad day…  So I prayed that I would find someone who needed my help.”  (Host #20)

“Most of the people in this world spend the majority of their time getting enough water to meet their most basic needs.  And we shit in it.” (Host #18 )

“Come back next week!  We’re building a yurt!” (Someone at a collective farm in Barre)

5 Responses to “Favorite Quotes From Along The Way”


  1. 1 Margarett June 27, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    Great quote. I will add my two favorite bumper stickers of the moment. Favorite number one as always is “Fish Fear my Passing” but saw a second placer yesterday that made me thing of you: “There is no way to Peace. Peace is the way”.

    Oddly enough I think I’ve always wanted to build a Yurt, and just haven’t known it until now. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

    M

  2. 2 Sarah June 28, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    Yay! Glad to see your posts again. Love the numbers… except the one about blisters. Love, Sarah

  3. 3 Burke June 29, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    Hey there Peace!

    It’s me, Burke, the guy that you met in the Appalachians who was traveling around by bicycle to play music. Just wanted to say hi. I’ve read your myspace and your blog and I’m very moved by what you’re doing. I’m very sorry that I didn’t offer you any food….the only food I had on me was canned food with meat in it and I kinda assumed that you were a vegetarian….but, damn, I really should have asked you to find out for sure, cuz you know what they say about assuming….I’m sorry, sometimes I’m just not thinking straight. Anyway, I hope that you’re well, and I look forward to keeping track of your travels.

    love respect and peace,
    Burke

  4. 4 Bob Dea July 3, 2007 at 3:43 am

    Ohh lordy, the Yurt is up now! I helped just a little with it this weekend.
    I hope all is going well!

  5. 5 Sonia Van Dyne July 4, 2007 at 6:50 am

    I LOVE yurts!


Leave a Reply

Walking for Peace

Starting June 1st, I’ll be walking at least 1,000 miles for peace. I will walk until given shelter and fast until given food. The way I understand the word, “peace” means internal peace, interpersonal peace, and peace on a national and international level. To get a little more specific, it also means that a young woman should be able to take a walk alone without fearing for her safety. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case right now. I’d like to help improve that situation.

Contact Me

peacepilgrim2007 @ gmail . com

