Poughkeepsie

I’ve had an amazing few days going through beautiful land. I’ve been staying with some intentionally poor people for a few days, and some unintentionally poor people at times before that. I’ve also seen people living in luxury, with dogs that eat more and better food than many people, and everything in between. Seeing the different standards of living just minutes from each other has given me a real education in how perception affects our beliefs about what we do and do not need. Poverty sounds like a dreary and uncomfortable existence, but some of the financially wealthy people I’ve met feel poorer than those I’ve met who have no running water. I think that feeling of insecurity is the source of a lot of the aggression in the world.

And speaking of insecurity, the police stopped me yesterday. They said someone called them about me… In the age of “terror,” I suppose someone walking for peace looks very suspicious to some people. Peace Pilgrim always said that she’d never met a person who’d built a bomb shelter and felt safer for it. Very wise words, and much needed wisdom in a country that is trying to create safety for itself using some extremely misguided methods.

Look for articles about the walk in the Millerton News and Poughkeepsie Journal soon!

3 Responses to “Poughkeepsie”


  1. 1 Gerry & Kim Carlin July 3, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Peace, thank you for taking the time to educate our family about your Peace Walk. We all found it very interesting and your blog gave us a lot to think about.
    Have a safe and wonderful journey. We hope to meet up with you again sometime.
    Kim and Gerry Carlin
    And remember, if you decide to detour to the Jersey Shore – you have our number.

  2. 2 Sonia Van Dyne July 4, 2007 at 6:53 am

    Peace, I am so excited for you! I love it about the tunic…I wish you were walking to SF so I could see you 😉

  3. 3 kate c July 4, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    this is incredible.. good luck on your journey and ill pray for you


Leave a Reply

Walking for Peace

Starting June 1st, I’ll be walking at least 1,000 miles for peace. I will walk until given shelter and fast until given food. The way I understand the word, “peace” means internal peace, interpersonal peace, and peace on a national and international level. To get a little more specific, it also means that a young woman should be able to take a walk alone without fearing for her safety. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case right now. I’d like to help improve that situation.

Contact Me

peacepilgrim2007 @ gmail . com

