York

Only 2 days to go!  Some of my most interesting experiences have been happening these last few days of the walk.  For the first weeks of the walk, it seemed that most of the people I met were women, and every woman I spoke to had a story of surviving violence.  As the walk winds down, it’s men I’ve been running into.  I’ve been having some wonderful conversations with them about the pressures they’ve felt to act “tough” and dominate.  One man described the damage this pressure has done to his spiritual and emotional growth, and his ability to be the kind of partner he’d like to be. Another told me that he believes he would never have ended up in prison had it not been for that same pressure.  And the war memorials I see in every town I pass through tell the story of the thousands of men I won’t have a chance to speak to.  The toll this takes on everyone is so tremendous. 

Unfortunately, most people I talk to defer their responsibility for addressing these issues to individual parents and their choices in childrearing.  I think this is a dangerous response to a problem that is obviously collective, and requires a range of institutional changes extending far beyond the behavior of individual families.  The good news though is that most people I speak to, male and female, do want the situation to change.

4 Responses to “York”


  1. 1 Lynn August 5, 2007 at 5:34 am

    I am so grateful,that I was fortunate enough to come across your journey for peace :-), (while I was searching for events on long island for August 6th international peace day). I have read about and have long admired the Peace Pilgram’s form of activism. I only wish I had known you were on long island a couple of weeks ago. . .I am a nurse and yoga teacher who was involved with a peace activist who was screaming at the entire world to be peaceful and yet internally he wasn’t able to allow peace to touch him. Now I don’t presume to know much, but through my journey thus far, I have come to a place that I believe peace must start within each of us individually and then it will eminate out from there. . . . So needless to say you are truly walking the walk. Know you will remain in my prayer/thoughts!Shanti, Shanti, Shanti
    Om peace and love
    Lynn

  2. 2 Margarett August 5, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    Only two days, wow!!! So fantastic!! I wish you loads of foot baths with bubbles and lotions. Please don’t put a pair of shoes on for at least a week when you get home and sleep a lot!! When does your term start? Do you have much of a rest? Anyway, well done to you. You’re amazing!!

  3. 3 Matt McDunnell August 7, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    I feel blessed to have met you and heard your story. The night after you left I had a dream in which I walked for a summer with my two children- but they were teenagers. Can you imagine a family walking for peace in those blue tunics? I’m inspired by your story.

    Matt

  4. 4 Carol August 7, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    This must be your last day! Congratulations! Thank you for doing this walk. I hope that it brought you, and everyone you came in contact with, much growth, awareness, and love.


Leave a Reply

Walking for Peace

Starting June 1st, I’ll be walking at least 1,000 miles for peace. I will walk until given shelter and fast until given food. The way I understand the word, “peace” means internal peace, interpersonal peace, and peace on a national and international level. To get a little more specific, it also means that a young woman should be able to take a walk alone without fearing for her safety. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case right now. I’d like to help improve that situation.

Contact Me

peacepilgrim2007 @ gmail . com

