1 Down…

24 to go.  Or that’s what I’ve been thinking lately, anyway.  I was wearing Peace Pilgrim’s tunic for quite a while, and it does say, very clearly, “25,000 miles on foot for peace.”

I’m not sure how I will complete those 24,000 miles.  They may be metaphorical miles or literal miles.  I doubt I’ll ever be a peace pilgrim again, but you never know. 

While I was walking, I had so many people express a desire to get our military out of Iraq.  I had several members of our military thank me for what I was doing, including one who had just returned from Iraq.  I think about what they’ve sacrificed, and I know that it would be unconscionable and beyond selfish for me to stop working for peace now.

I’m going to spend some time thinking about how to best continue the spirit of my walk.  Maybe you’ll hear from me again publicly someday, maybe not.  But, in the words of Peace Pilgrim, I will keep at it, “until mankind has learned the way of peace.”

5 Responses to “1 Down…”


  1. 1 Steve Miller December 1, 2007 at 1:00 am

    Hooray for you Peace Pilgrim. I applaud your positive creative action. I am inspired. And I am glad you publicized what you’ve done, and that you’ve shared some of the wisdom you’ve gained from your own work and from people you’ve met on your walk.
    So much of the positive that we do is in our everyday, normal actions. Your extaordinary walk, meeting people at moments in their daily lives, showed the possibilities we all have. Your openness and purposefulness show your strength and you give a mighty message to those you met in person, and to us who read your blog.
    I hope you’ll say what more you’re doing after your 1000 miles.
    Thank you, Steve

  2. 2 Paul December 23, 2007 at 1:46 am

    You missed the point of Peace’s life during her last yaers here.

    You always had an “out”
    You could always call someone and go back you your New York lifestyle

    “Peace” never considered that option.
    She stayed on the road up until the day she died.

    Sure you had fun meeting people on your spring fling.

    Now you are back in New York in your warm apartment.

    You are back at your career.

    You never had to be concerned about money because you had that covered.
    you always had a “back up play.”

    The orginator or the Peace Pigram didn’t have a back up plan.

    The walk was her life!!

    Peace will NEVER happen as long as people like you “toy” with what this wonderful woman started.
    She dedicated HER LIFE to world peace.

    You toyed with it for a few months to give yourself your “5 minutes of fame”.

    You really trashed her walk when you went back to the “Safety” of your New York lifestyle.

    You missed the whole point of the walk.

    People fed you and gave you a warm place to sleep.
    They gave you friendship.

    What more did you want?

  3. 3 pilgrimforpeace December 27, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Hi Paul,

    Many thanks for your comment. The world would be a boring place if everyone agreed on everything.

    You are absolutely correct that Peace Pilgrim was in a league of her own–a league that I can only aspire to at this point. Her body and mind were capable of things that I simply am not, but I did my best. With hard work, we could all be as devoted to peace as she was, and I will keep trying.

    Peace!

    • 4 Thom January 15, 2013 at 11:39 pm

      The blog ended in 2007 – anything worth updating since the past 5 or so years? What are you doing meanwhile? What has changed in your life? Paul, what gives you the right to judge?

      • 5 pilgrimforpeace January 16, 2013 at 1:57 am

        Hi Thom,

        I’d say the walk was the beginning of a very long journey. There is still plenty to be done for peace in the world. The walk did change me and teach me some things, but only because it wasn’t really about me–I did it because I wanted to make the world a better place. I have been glad to see more people taking an interest in the ways that our socialization of boys may lead to violence, which is something I hoped to draw attention to with the walk. I’ll never know whether I played any part in that increasing interest, but I’d like to think so.


Leave a Reply

Walking for Peace

Starting June 1st, I’ll be walking at least 1,000 miles for peace. I will walk until given shelter and fast until given food. The way I understand the word, “peace” means internal peace, interpersonal peace, and peace on a national and international level. To get a little more specific, it also means that a young woman should be able to take a walk alone without fearing for her safety. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case right now. I’d like to help improve that situation.

Contact Me

peacepilgrim2007 @ gmail . com

